Sum 41 announces breakup after 27 years

Sum 41 is officially disbanding.

After 27 years together, the band members announced their breakup via Instagram Monday.

“Being in Sum 41 since 1996 brought us some of the best moments in our lives,” Deryck Whibley, Dave Baksh, Jason McCaslin, Tom Thacker and Frank Zummo wrote in a statement.

“We are forever grateful to our fans both old and new, who have supported us in any way,” the message continued.

”It is hard to articulate the love and respect we have for all of you and we wanted you to hear this from us first.”

Sum 41 members pose on grass
The band made its announcement via Instagram.
Jason McCaslin, Tom Thacker and Dave Baksh play guitar onstage
The remaining five members thanked fans for the “best moments of (their) lives.”
Sum 41 Instagram statement
“Thank you for the last 27 years,” they concluded.
Sum 41/Twitter

For more Page Six you love …

The musicians clarified that while they “are disbanding,” they still plan to finish out their “current upcoming tour dates this year.”

Additionally, Sum 41 is “releasing (their) final album, ‘Heaven :x: Hell,’ along with a final worldwide headlining tour to celebrate.”

Their statement concluded, “For now, we look forward to seeing all of you skumf—ks on the road and are excited for what the future will bring for each of us. Thank you for the last 27 years of Sum 41.”

Deryk Whibley performs onstage
The band, which formed in 1996, will finish out their scheduled tour and album release.

The band, best known for songs like “Fat Lip” and “In Too Deep,” formed in 1996 and went on to release seven studio albums.

Over the years, the group has featured other members — Jon Marshall, Richard Roy, Mark Spicoluk and Steve Jocz.

Sum 41 kicks off a European tour in June, followed by a Let the Bad Times Roll tour in North America in the fall with The Offspring and Simple Plan.

Source link